MENU
Battalion releases 2017-18 schedule

NORTH BAY, Ont. – The North Bay Battalion will open its 2017-18 regular-season schedule at 7 p.m. Friday, Sept. 22, at home against the Barrie Colts, the Ontario Hockey League club announced Tuesday.

The Battalion, embarking on its fifth season in North Bay, plays 34 home games, comprising 16 Thursdays, 13 Sundays, two Wednesdays, two Fridays and one Monday.

The Troops host their annual Thanksgiving Monday game on Oct. 9 at 2 p.m. with the Peterborough Petes providing the opposition, and the Battalion entertains the Mississauga Steelheads in a 1 p.m. start on Sunday, Dec. 31, in its annual New Year’s Eve game. The Steelheads are the opponent for the third consecutive year.

Home games on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday start at 7 p.m., while Sunday home games begin at 2 p.m. with the exception of Dec. 31 and Jan. 28, which are 1 p.m. starts.

Within the Central Division, one of two in the Eastern Conference, the Battalion faces the Sudbury Wolves eight times and Barrie, Mississauga and the Niagara IceDogs six times each. The Troops play East Division teams four times each and Western Conference opponents twice each, except for the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds, who provide the opposition four times.

BATTALION BULLETS: The Windsor Spitfires, hosts and champions of the 2017 Memorial Cup tournament, make their only visit to North Bay on Oct. 26. The Battalion stops at Windsor on Nov. 30 … The Troops visit the Erie Otters, reigning OHL champions, on Dec. 16 and play host to the Otters on Feb. 1 … The Battalion’s busiest months are January and February, each of which features 12 games. The Troops play 11 games in each of October and November and 10 in December … The Battalion plays a season-high six consecutive road games from Oct. 28 to Nov. 10 … The Battalion sees action on New Year’s Day for the first time since 2015 when it visits the Oshawa Generals for a 2:05 p.m. start. The Troops’ last Jan. 1 game was a 2-1 loss via shootout at Oshawa … After a one-year hiatus, the Troops play a road game on the insipidly named Family Day holiday, at Oshawa on Monday, Feb. 19 … The Battalion has three home-and-home sets, two with Sudbury, on Sept. 24 and 27 and March 8 and 9, and one with Oshawa on Jan. 1 and 4 … At no time do the Troops play more than two consecutive home games … North Bay is one of six teams competing in the inaugural OHL Showcase, a preseason competition to be held at Harborcenter at Buffalo, a facility adjacent to the KeyBank Center, home of the National Hockey League’s Buffalo Sabres. The Troops are to play three games against opponents to be determined. The Battalion’s exhibition schedule also features a visit to Sudbury and a home-and-home set with the Owen Sound Attack.

Following is the complete schedule of exhibition and regular-season games, with home games capitalized:

Exhibition
Friday, Sept. 1 – OHL Showcase @ Buffalo
Saturday, Sept. 2 – OHL Showcase @ Buffalo
Sunday, Sept. 3 – OHL Showcase @ Buffalo
Wednesday, Sept. 13 @ Sudbury 7:00
Saturday, Sept. 16 @ Owen Sound 2:00
Sunday, Sept. 17 vs. OWEN SOUND 2:00

Regular Season
Friday, Sept. 22 vs. BARRIE 7:00
Sunday, Sept. 24 @ Sudbury 2:00
Wednesday, Sept. 27 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Friday, Sept. 29 vs. SAULT STE. MARIE 7:00

Thursday, Oct. 5 @ Barrie 7:30
Monday, Oct. 9 vs. PETERBOROUGH 2:00
Thursday, Oct. 12 vs. OTTAWA 7:00
Saturday, Oct. 14 @ Barrie 7:30
Sunday, Oct. 15 vs. HAMILTON 2:00
Thursday, Oct. 19 vs. SARNIA 7:00
Friday, Oct. 20 @ Mississauga 7:00
Sunday, Oct. 22 vs. KINGSTON 2:00
Thursday, Oct. 26 vs. WINDSOR 7:00
Saturday, Oct. 28 @ Owen Sound 7:30
Sunday, Oct. 29 @ Kitchener 2:00

Friday, Nov. 3 @ Flint 7:00
Saturday, Nov. 4 @ Saginaw 7:05
Sunday, Nov. 5 @ Sault Ste. Marie 2:07
Friday, Nov. 10 @ Guelph 7:30
Sunday, Nov. 12 vs. NIAGARA 2:00
Thursday, Nov. 16 vs. SAULT STE. MARIE 7:00
Friday, Nov. 17 @ Niagara 7:00
Sunday, Nov. 19 @ Sudbury 2:00
Thursday, Nov. 23 vs. KITCHENER 7:00
Sunday, Nov. 26 vs. BARRIE 2:00
Thursday, Nov. 30 @ Windsor 7:05

Friday, Dec. 1 @ Sarnia 7:05
Saturday, Dec. 2 @ London 7:00
Thursday, Dec. 7 vs. MISSISSAUGA 7:00
Friday, Dec. 8 @ Sault Ste. Marie 7:07
Sunday, Dec. 10 vs. BARRIE 2:00
Thursday, Dec. 14 vs. HAMILTON 7:00
Friday, Dec. 15 @ Niagara 7:00
Saturday, Dec. 16 @ Erie 7:00
Thursday, Dec. 28 vs. NIAGARA 7:00
Sunday, Dec. 31 vs. MISSISSAUGA 1:00

Monday, Jan. 1 @ Oshawa 2:05
Thursday, Jan. 4 vs. OSHAWA 7:00
Friday, Jan. 5 @ Hamilton 7:30
Sunday, Jan. 7 vs. LONDON 2:00
Thursday, Jan. 11 vs. OWEN SOUND 7:00
Saturday, Jan. 13 @ Barrie 7:30
Sunday, Jan. 14 vs. PETERBOROUGH 2:00
Thursday, Jan. 18 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Saturday, Jan. 20 @ Sudbury 7:05
Sunday, Jan. 21 vs. SAGINAW 2:00
Friday, Jan. 26 @ Ottawa 7:00
Sunday, Jan. 28 vs. NIAGARA 1:00

Thursday, Feb. 1 vs. ERIE 7:00
Friday, Feb. 2 @ Mississauga 7:00
Sunday, Feb. 4 vs. GUELPH 2:00
Thursday, Feb. 8 vs. FLINT 7:00
Saturday, Feb. 10 @ Peterborough 7:05
Sunday, Feb. 11 @ Kingston 2:00
Thursday, Feb. 15 vs. OSHAWA 7:00
Sunday, Feb. 18 vs. MISSISSAUGA 2:00
Monday, Feb. 19 @ Oshawa 2:05
Wednesday, Feb. 21 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Saturday, Feb. 24 @ Niagara 7:00
Sunday, Feb. 25 @ Hamilton 2:00

Thursday, March 1 vs. OTTAWA 7:00
Friday, March 2 @ Mississauga 7:00
Sunday, March 4 vs. KINGSTON 2:00
Thursday, March 8 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Friday, March 9 @ Sudbury 7:05
Thursday, March 15 @ Peterborough 7:05
Friday, March 16 @ Kingston 7:00
Sunday, March 18 @ Ottawa 2:00
More News
Battalion announces Buffalo schedule
20 hours ago
Battalion tabs Czech centre Chytil
36 mins ago
Troops trade for Burghardt, Moncada
1 day ago
Four Troops get Hockey Canada invites
1 week ago
Kislinger sent to Flint for pick
1 week ago
4:41
Scott Wray - June 13, 2017
2 weeks ago