MENU

Battalion releases schedule

NORTH BAY, Ont. – The North Bay Battalion will open its 2018-19 regular-season schedule at 7 p.m. Friday, Sept. 21, at home against the Hamilton Bulldogs, the Ontario Hockey League club announced Tuesday.

The Battalion, embarking on its sixth season in North Bay, plays 34 home games, comprising 16 Thursdays, 11 Sundays, three Fridays, two Mondays, one Wednesday and one Saturday.

The Troops host their annual Thanksgiving Monday game on Oct. 8 at 2 p.m. with the Peterborough Petes providing the opposition, and the Battalion entertains the Sudbury Wolves in a 1 p.m. start on Monday, Dec. 31, in its annual New Year’s Eve game.

Home games on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday start at 7 p.m., while Sunday home games begin at 2 p.m., with exceptions being Nov. 18 at 3 p.m. and Jan. 27 at 4 p.m.

Within the Central Division, one of two in the Eastern Conference, the Battalion faces Sudbury eight times and the Barrie Colts, Mississauga Steelheads and Niagara IceDogs six times each. The Troops play East Division teams four times each and Western Conference opponents twice each, except for the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds, who provide the opposition four times.

BATTALION BULLETS: The Bulldogs, the reigning OHL champions and season-opening visitors, make their second trip to North Bay on March 14. The Battalion plays at Hamilton on Oct. 28 and Dec. 9 … The Battalion’s busiest months are November and January, each of which features 12 games. The Troops play 11 games in February and 10 in each of October and December … The Battalion plays a season-high six consecutive road games from Nov. 29 to Dec. 9 … The Battalion is idle on New Year’s Day for the third time in four years after visiting the Oshawa Generals on the date last season … The Troops play a road game on the insipidly named Family Day holiday, against the Ottawa 67’s on Monday, Feb. 18 … The Battalion has two home-and-home sets, one with Niagara on Nov. 9-10 and the other with Barrie on Dec. 15-16.  Both open on the road and wrap up at North Bay … The Troops play a season-high five straight home games from Jan. 17-31. The Battalion also plays four consecutive home games from Feb. 28 to March 7 … North Bay is one of four teams competing in the inaugural Preseason Showcase at Kitchener. The Troops are to play three games, against the Saginaw Spirit, the Moncton Wildcats of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and the Kitchener Rangers. The Battalion’s exhibition schedule also features a home-and-home set with the Owen Sound Attack.

Following is the complete schedule of exhibition and regular-season games, with home games capitalized:

Exhibition
Friday, Aug. 31 – vs. Saginaw @ Kitchener 2:00
Saturday, Sept. 1 – vs. Moncton @ Kitchener 2:00
Sunday, Sept. 2 – @ Kitchener 2:00
Saturday, Sept. 15 vs. OWEN SOUND 2:00
Sunday, Sept. 16 @ Owen Sound 2:00

Regular Season
Friday, Sept. 21 vs. HAMILTON 7:00
Saturday, Sept. 22 @ Sault Ste. Marie 7:07
Thursday, Sept. 27 vs. OSHAWA 7:00
Saturday, Sept. 29 @ Niagara 7:00
Sunday, Sept. 30 @ Oshawa 6:05

Wednesday, Oct. 3 vs. OTTAWA 7:00
Monday, Oct. 8 vs. PETERBOROUGH 2:00
Friday, Oct. 12 @ Flint 7:00
Saturday, Oct. 13 @ Saginaw 7:05
Sunday, Oct. 14 @ Sault Ste. Marie 2:07
Thursday, Oct. 18 vs. MISSISSAUGA 7:00
Sunday, Oct. 21 vs. KINGSTON 2:00
Thursday, Oct. 25 vs. BARRIE 7:00
Saturday, Oct. 27 @ Erie 7:00
Sunday, Oct. 28 @ Hamilton 2:00

Thursday, Nov. 1 vs. ERIE 7:00
Sunday, Nov. 4 @ Sudbury 3:05
Friday, Nov. 9 @ Niagara 7:00
Saturday, Nov. 10 vs. NIAGARA 7:00
Thursday, Nov. 15 @ Barrie 7:30
Friday, Nov. 16 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Sunday, Nov. 18 vs. OTTAWA 3:00
Thursday, Nov. 22 vs. SAGINAW 7:00
Friday, Nov. 23 @ Mississauga 7:00
Sunday, Nov. 25 vs. GUELPH 2:00
Thursday, Nov. 29 @ Peterborough 7:05
Friday, Nov. 30 @ Kingston 7:00

Sunday, Dec. 2 @ Ottawa 2:00
Friday, Dec. 7 @ Kitchener 7:30
Saturday, Dec. 8 @ Niagara 7:00
Sunday, Dec. 9 @ Hamilton 2:00
Thursday, Dec. 13 vs. KITCHENER 7:00
Saturday, Dec. 15 @ Barrie 7:30
Sunday, Dec. 16 vs. BARRIE 2:00
Friday, Dec. 28 @ Sudbury 7:05
Saturday, Dec. 29 @ Barrie 7:30
Monday, Dec. 31 vs. SUDBURY 1:00

Thursday, Jan. 3 vs. OSHAWA 7:00
Saturday, Jan. 5 @ Owen Sound 7:30
Sunday, Jan. 6 @ Guelph 2:00
Thursday, Jan. 10 vs. MISSISSAUGA 7:00
Saturday, Jan. 12 @ Peterborough 7:05
Sunday, Jan. 13 @ Kingston 6:00
Wednesday, Jan. 16 @ Sudbury 7:05
Thursday, Jan. 17 vs. SAULT STE. MARIE 7:00
Sunday, Jan. 20 vs. LONDON 2:00
Thursday, Jan. 24 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Sunday, Jan. 27 vs. KINGSTON 4:00
Thursday, Jan. 31 vs. WINDSOR 7:00

Friday, Feb. 1 @ Mississauga 7:00
Sunday, Feb. 3 vs. SARNIA 2:00
Thursday, Feb. 7 vs. FLINT 7:00
Wednesday, Feb. 13 @ Sudbury 7:05
Thursday, Feb. 14 vs. SAULT STE. MARIE 7:00
Sunday, Feb. 17 vs. MISSISSAUGA 2:00
Monday, Feb. 18 @ Ottawa 2:00
Friday, Feb. 22 @ Sarnia 7:05
Saturday, Feb. 23 @ Windsor 7:05
Sunday, Feb. 24 @ London 2:00
Thursday, Feb. 28 vs. OWEN SOUND 7:00

Friday, March 1 vs. NIAGARA 7:00
Sunday, March 3 vs. SUDBURY 2:00
Thursday, March 7 vs. BARRIE 7:00
Friday, March 8 @ Oshawa 7:35
Sunday, March 10 vs. PETERBOROUGH 2:00
Thursday, March 14 vs. HAMILTON 7:00
Friday, March 15 @ Mississauga 7:00
Sunday, March 17 vs. NIAGARA 2:00

Click below for PDF version of the schedule
More News
Battalion beats Barrie
11 hours ago
Troops rally to snap skid
2 days ago
Troops ready for home ice
4 days ago
Another loss ends road run
7 days ago
'Dogs, Troops extend streaks
1 week ago
0:55
2018 Teddy Bear Toss Video
6 days ago