MENU

Battalion releases schedule

NORTH BAY, Ont. — The North Bay Battalion will open its 2019-20 regular-season schedule at 7 p.m. Friday, Sept. 20, at home against the Barrie Colts, the Ontario Hockey League club announced Tuesday.

The Battalion, entering its seventh season in North Bay, plays 34 home games, comprising 16 Thursdays, 13 Sundays, two Fridays, one Monday, one Tuesday and one Wednesday.

The Troops host their annual Thanksgiving Monday game on Oct. 14 at 2 p.m. with the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds providing the opposition, and the Battalion entertains the Sudbury Wolves in a 1 p.m. start on Tuesday, Dec. 31, in its annual New Year’s Eve game.

Home games on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday start at 7 p.m., while Sunday home games begin at 2 p.m., with exceptions being Nov. 17 at 3 p.m. and Jan. 26 at 1 p.m.

Within the Central Division, one of two in the Eastern Conference, the Battalion faces Sudbury eight times and Barrie, the Mississauga Steelheads and the Niagara IceDogs six times each. The Troops play East Division teams four times each and Western Conference opponents twice each, except for Sault Ste. Marie, which provides the opposition four times.

BATTALION BULLETS: The Battalion’s busiest months are November and January, each of which features 12 games. The Troops play 11 games in February and 10 in each of October and March … The Battalion plays a season-high five consecutive road games Oct. 18-26 as curling takes over Memorial Gardens … The Battalion, idle on New Year’s Day for the fourth time in five years, also is off on the insipidly named Family Day holiday … The Battalion has two home-and-home sets, one with Sudbury on Jan. 23-24 and the other with Barrie on March 14-15. The first opens at North Bay and the other at Barrie … The Guelph Storm, which won the OHL championship last season, visits North Bay on Jan. 30. The Battalion plays at Guelph on Oct. 25 … The Battalion is among four teams competing in the second annual Preseason Showcase at Kitchener. The Troops are to play three games, against the Kitchener Rangers, the Peterborough Petes and, in a morning start, the Saginaw Spirit. The Battalion’s exhibition schedule also features a home-and-home set with the Owen Sound Attack.

Following is the complete schedule of exhibition and regular-season games, with home games capitalized and all times p.m. unless noted:

Exhibition
Friday, Aug. 30 @ Kitchener 7:00
Saturday, Aug. 31 vs. Peterborough @ Kitchener 2:00
Sunday, Sept. 1 vs. Saginaw @ Kitchener 11:00 a.m.
Saturday, Sept. 14 @ Owen Sound 2:00
Sunday, Sept. 15 vs. OWEN SOUND 2:00

Regular Season
Friday, Sept. 20 vs. BARRIE 7:00
Saturday, Sept. 21 @ Sault Ste. Marie 7:07
Thursday, Sept. 26 vs. KITCHENER 7:00
Friday, Sept. 27 @ Sudbury 7:05

Thursday, Oct. 3 vs. PETERBOROUGH 7:00
Friday, Oct. 4 @ Oshawa 7:35
Thursday, Oct. 10 vs. OSHAWA 7:00
Saturday, Oct. 12 @ Niagara 7:00
Monday, Oct. 14 vs. SAULT STE. MARIE 2:00
Friday, Oct. 18 @ Saginaw 7:05
Saturday, Oct. 19 @ Flint 7:00
Sunday, Oct. 20 @ Sault Ste. Marie 2:07
Friday, Oct. 25 @ Guelph 7:30
Saturday, Oct. 26 @ Owen Sound 7:30

Friday, Nov. 1 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Sunday, Nov. 3 vs. PETERBOROUGH 2:00
Friday, Nov. 8 @ London 7:30
Saturday, Nov. 9 @ Windsor 7:05
Sunday, Nov. 10 @ Sarnia 4:05
Thursday, Nov. 14 vs. HAMILTON 7:00
Sunday, Nov. 17 vs. BARRIE 3:00
Thursday, Nov. 21 vs. OSHAWA 7:00
Friday, Nov. 22 @ Hamilton 7:00
Sunday, Nov. 24 vs. NIAGARA 2:00
Thursday, Nov. 28 @ Peterborough 7:05
Friday, Nov. 29 @ Kingston 7:00

Sunday, Dec. 1 @ Ottawa 2:00
Sunday, Dec. 8 vs. FLINT 2:00
Thursday, Dec. 12 vs. ERIE 7:00
Friday, Dec. 13 @ Mississauga 7:00
Sunday, Dec. 15 vs. OWEN SOUND 2:00
Thursday, Dec. 19 vs. LONDON 7:00
Saturday, Dec. 28 @ Hamilton 4:00
Sunday, Dec. 29 @ Oshawa 6:05
Tuesday, Dec. 31 vs. SUDBURY 1:00

Thursday, Jan. 2 vs. NIAGARA 7:00
Saturday, Jan. 4 @ Barrie 7:30
Sunday, Jan. 5 vs. WINDSOR 2:00
Thursday, Jan. 9 vs. MISSISSAUGA 7:00
Friday, Jan. 10 @ Sudbury 7:05
Friday, Jan. 17 @ Kitchener 7:30
Saturday, Jan. 18 @ Niagara 7:00
Thursday, Jan. 23 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Friday, Jan. 24 @ Sudbury 7:05
Sunday, Jan. 26 vs. SAULT STE. MARIE 1:00
Thursday, Jan. 30 vs. GUELPH 7:00
Friday, Jan. 31 @ Mississauga 7:00

Sunday, Feb. 2 vs. KINGSTON 2:00
Thursday, Feb. 6 @ Peterborough 7:05
Friday, Feb. 7 @ Kingston 7:00
Sunday, Feb. 9 @ Ottawa 2:00
Thursday, Feb. 13 vs. SARNIA 7:00
Saturday, Feb. 15 @ Barrie 7:30
Sunday, Feb. 16 vs. MISSISSAUGA 2:00
Thursday, Feb. 20 vs. OTTAWA 7:00
Sunday, Feb. 23 vs. SAGINAW 2:00
Wednesday, Feb. 26 vs. SUDBURY 7:00
Saturday, Feb. 29 @ Erie 7:00

Sunday, March 1 @ Niagara 2:00
Thursday, March 5 vs. KINGSTON 7:00
Friday, March 6 @ Mississauga 7:00
Sunday, March 8 vs. OTTAWA 2:00
Thursday, March 12 vs. MISSISSAUGA 7:00
Saturday, March 14 @ Barrie 7:30
Sunday, March 15 vs. BARRIE 2:00
Tuesday, March 17 @ Sudbury 7:05
Thursday, March 19 vs. HAMILTON 7:00
Sunday, March 22 vs. NIAGARA 2:00

More News
Troops swap Propp for pick
7 days ago
Brazeau voted to first all-stars
3 weeks ago
Three recruits inked at camp
3 weeks ago
Prospects set for camp
4 weeks ago
Brazeau named top overager
2 months ago
Prospects ready for Gold Cup
2 months ago